Home » Games » The Village Crone » The Village Crone FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

We have put together this FAQ page to answer the most frequently asked questions we receive, so you can get back to playing your game!

If you don’t find the answer to your question here, please contact us, so that we can help you get back on track.


Game Play

If you have a question about Game Play for a specific game, choose your game from the list below and follow the link to that game’s specific FAQ page.

Castle Panic

Castle Panic: The Wizard’s Tower

Castle Panic: The Dark Titan

Dead Panic

Munchkin Panic

The Village Crone

Download a copy of the RULES (1.2 Mb PDF)

Download a copy of the FAQ (377 kb PDF)

Updated 3/10/16

Unbinding

The first printing of The Village Crone had an error in the Rulebook and Books of Spells. The correct Ingredient cost to Unbind a Location is 2 of the same of ANY Ingredient.

All subsequent printings have this error fixed, but you can download an updated Rulebook and printable patches for your Books of Spells at www.firesidegames.com/games/village-crone

Bound Locations

What happens if a Familiar enters a Location containing the maximum number of Familiars and the home Villager is in a Bound Location?

The Villager is prevented from going home to scatter the Familiars, so scattering does not take place. Note: If there are still too many Familiars in that Location when the other Location becomes Unbound, the Villager immediately returns and all of the Familiars return to the Village Green.

Do players still Tithe if the Tithe Barn has been Bound?

Yes. Binding prevents movement and allows no spells (except Unbinding) to be cast on a Location, but Tithing and Harvesting still occur.

Can you still cast Fortune when the Tithe Barn is Bound?

No. No spells (except Unbinding) can be cast on a Bound location.

Casting Spells

When casting a spell on two Villagers in Love, do you need to pay for the spell twice?

No. When two Villagers are in Love their fates are joined. What happens to one, happens to the other. So you only have to pay for the spell once.

Is there a limit to the number of Protection spells that can be cast by players?

There is no artificial limit. Players are limited only by the Ingredients in their hand. Be careful, though! Spending too many Ingredients on Protection spells robs you of the Ingredients you need to cast spells for points.

Do the discarded Ingredients go back to their respective Locations?

Yes, but only after Ingredients have run out at that Location. Note: Ingredients are discarded into separate piles. Eye of Newt cards are discarded into the Ingredient piles they were used in place of. When the Ingredients for a Location run out, the discard pile for that Ingredient is turned facedown and placed on the Location.

Completing Schemes

Is it possible for a passive Scheme to be completed by another player’s actions OR by the actions of the player holding the Scheme?

Yes. Passive Schemes just need to be complete when a player scores that Scheme. It does not matter which player completed them.

Do all of the conditions on a Witch’s Scheme card have to be true in the exact same moment?

No. All of the conditions on a Witch’s Scheme card just have to be met on the same turn. Some conditions on a card would be impossible to meet at the exact same moment. For example, if a Witch’s Scheme requires the Peasant to be in the Mill and also requires the Peasant to be Summoned to the Forge, one of those conditions would have to be met after the other.

The Thwart a Rival scheme requires you to Bind out of turn. Do you have to pay a Silver to interrupt and another Silver to cast the Binding spell?

No. This card specifically allows you to complete the Scheme out of turn at no additional cost. Completing this Scheme will require you to cast the Protection spell and then cast the Binding spell with the usual Ingredient cost of those spells.

Completing a Witch's Scheme Out of Turn

After paying a Silver to complete a Witch’s Scheme card out of turn, can you continue to cast spells?

No. When you pay a Silver to complete a Scheme, you can Cast the spells necessary to complete that Scheme card and no others.

Can you move a Villager when completing a Witch’s Scheme out of turn?

You cannot use your usual 6 movement since it is not your turn, but you can move a Villager by using a spell.

If you pay a Silver to complete a Witch’s Scheme card out of turn and someone casts Protection to stop you from completing the card, do you have to stop casting spells?

No. If you have the ingredients, you can try casting the original spell again or you can counter their Protection spell with a Protection spell of your own.

Can anyone pay a Silver to interrupt someone who has already paid a Silver to attempt to complete a Witch’s Scheme card?

Yes, you can pay a Silver to cast spells to complete a Scheme card out of turn during another player’s interrupt, but you have to follow the same rules, i.e., pay the Silver and cast spells between their spells not during one.

When you spend a Silver to play out of turn, does that mean you get 6 movement and can cast as many spells as you want?

No. When you spend a Silver to play out of turn, you can only cast spells that complete 1 Witch’s Scheme card. You cannot perform movement or cast spells that do not directly complete a Scheme.

What is the order of resolution when you have more than one player paying Silver to interrupt another player’s turn?

The Schemes should be resolved in the order in which they interrupted the original player’s turn.


Drawing Scheme Cards

When all the 3-point Scheme cards are gone, how do you draw new Scheme cards?

Draw one card from each remaining stack and take your pick like normal. If you achieved 2 Schemes, keep both cards. If you achieved 3 Schemes, keep 1 card from both piles and draw again from the piles, keeping one and returning the other.

Harvesting

When Harvesting, do players with a Familiar at the Tithe Barn collect two cards?

No. A player with a Familiar at the Tithe Barn does not collect ANY resources for that Familiar. The only benefit to having a Familiar in the Tithe Barn is that player does not have to tithe.

Movement & Frogs

What exactly defines when a frog is being carried by a Familiar?

When a player moves the frog with their Familiar, that frog is being carried by that Familiar. Note: If the player does not move that Familiar away from the frog by the end of their movement allotment, that Familiar is still carrying the frog and both can be affected by the Switching spell.