Dead Panic FAQ Posted

Posted on

Just in time for Thanksgiving, we’ve posted the Frequently Asked Questions about Dead Panic! This should help you kill zombies and give thanks for crossbows.

Thanks to all our avid fans for submitting questions and helping us clear things up.

You can read the FAQ online here, or download it as a pdf file here.

Share the Fun

4 thoughts on “Dead Panic FAQ Posted

  1. The FAQ is lovely, but unfortunately it did not clearly answer my most pressing question about the game. Do characters who have entered the van, attract zombies? I understand that they do not receive the bait token, but characters still attract zombies even when they don’t have the bait token. Does entering the van immediately make you uninteresting to zombies? Or will you keep attracting zombies, creating a horde of zombies that other characters have to get through to reach you?

    1. Hi Faldwin,

      We’ll be adding your question to the FAQ shortly. In the meantime, the answer is that characters in the van do NOT attract zombies.

      Good luck with the undead horde!

  2. We assuredly don’t have a later version of the rules as we had to come here to figure out how a fight is resolved between a character and a character zombie. We read and re-read and none of us got the concept that each player rolls 2 dice and the higher number wins (which we like).

    To show that we are really struggling however in rules interpretation, we cannot reach a consensus on playing of the cabin cards during the ‘perform action ‘ phase. We debate on whether you are using a gun in that phase, or using up an action by declaring you will use your gun during the fight phase. The same went for things such as epi-pen and helmet. Must you play those cards in the cabin phase and then wait to use them in the fight phase? Another way to ask this may be- could I use a move three spaces cabin card and a gun card one time in the action phase, then use a helmet card and the gun card again in the fight phase- effectively playing 3 or 4 cards per turn? Now comes the question, if I use a gun in the action phase 2 times, but then fight later and say I have a 3 shot capacity gun, can i use it for all three shots and a melee club in the fight phase if I have 4 zombies in my space? That would mean you get 2 actions, but the skys the limit on how many pertinent cards you can play in the fight phase? Yikes, are we getting any of this right? thanks

    1. Hi GK,

      I’m sorry to hear about the confusion. Let me see if I can clear this up for you! I’ve put my answers in italics for you.

      To show that we are really struggling however in rules interpretation, we cannot reach a consensus on playing of the cabin cards during the ‘perform action ‘ phase. We debate on whether you are using a gun in that phase, or using up an action by declaring you will use your gun during the fight phase.

      You are using a gun during the Perform Actions phase. Using a Cabin card takes one action (i.e., spending a bullet to shoot a zombie, rolling dice to attack a zombie with a melee weapon, or healing a point of damage with the First Aid Kit).

      The same went for things such as epi-pen and helmet. Must you play those cards in the cabin phase and then wait to use them in the fight phase?

      No, you play those cards immediately when they are needed. For example, Epi-pen would be played right after rolling the dice no matter if it was combat during your Perform Actions phase, or your Fight Zombies phase.

      Another way to ask this may be- could I use a move three spaces cabin card and a gun card one time in the action phase, then use a helmet card and the gun card again in the fight phase- effectively playing 3 or 4 cards per turn?

      Yes, that is exactly right, as long as your gun has enough bullets.

      Now comes the question, if I use a gun in the action phase 2 times, but then fight later and say I have a 3 shot capacity gun, can i use it for all three shots and a melee club in the fight phase if I have 4 zombies in my space? That would mean you get 2 actions, but the skys the limit on how many pertinent cards you can play in the fight phase?

      You could use the gun twice in your Perform Actions phase, but if the gun had 3 bullets, you would only be able to shoot it one more time in the Fight Zombies phase and then it would become a club. In your 4-zombie scenario, that last bullet would have counted as fighting 1 zombie, so you would then have to fight the remaining 3 zombies with your (new) club or any other weapons you had.

      Remember, that during the Fight Zombies phase players use weapons at no action cost, so you can shoot as many bullets, and swing as many melee weapons as you need to, until all zombies in your space are dealt with.

      Yikes, are we getting any of this right? Thanks

      Actually, yes, you were! I’m glad you asked so we can help you get back to enjoying the game. I hope this helps and let us know if you have other questions.
      -Justin De Witt

Comments are closed.