Home » Games » The Dark Titan » The Dark Titan FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

We have put together this FAQ page to answer the most frequently asked questions we receive, so you can get back to playing your game!

If you don’t find the answer to your question here, please contact us, so that we can help you get back on track.


Game Play

If you have a question about Game Play for a specific game, choose your game from the list below and follow the link to that game’s specific FAQ page.

Castle Panic

Castle Panic: The Wizard’s Tower

Castle Panic: The Dark Titan

Dead Panic

Munchkin Panic

The Village Crone

Download a copy of the RULES (815 kb PDF)

Download a copy of the FAQ (411 kb PDF)

Updated 3/10/16

Slaying Agranok

Is playing 2 hit cards consecutively enough to finish off Agranok?

Yes. Any combination of cards played that does at least 2 points of damage would finish him off.

If you use 2 Slay cards on Agranok, is he immediately dead?

Yes, but there is a catch. Once Agranok flips to his damaged side, (with his last 4 points showing) all players must discard 1 card at random. This means there’s a chance you might play your first Slay card, and then be forced to discard your second one before you get the chance to use it.

If Agranok is at 8 health and a Knight card is played with a Nice Shot card, does Agranok take 1 hit from the Knight card & 4 points damage from the Nice Shot card, for a total of 5, or just the 4 points damage from the Nice Shot card?

4 points. Nice Shot doesn’t add damage; it modifies an existing hit to Slay a monster. Also, the Nice Shot card would have to be banished from the game.

Agranok & Fire

If Agranok is on fire with only 2 HP left, and he is damaged for 1 point during the Play Cards phase, would his movement then kill him?

No, he has to take 2 points of damage in the same Play Cards phase. In this case he would ignore the single point of damage from the attack, and then ignore the single point of damage from the fire.

If Agranok is on fire and moves himself a second time because of a die roll, does he take 1 hit point or does he take 2 hits because of the two separate movements during phase 5?

He would only take 1 point each time because the movements are separate. His normal movement during the Monsters Move Phase would be completely resolved before you roll for his special effect.

Agranok's Movement

Does Agranok move the same as a standard monster, one space forward each turn?

Yes. On Phase 5, Agranok moves just like all the other monsters. Note: If you are playing with a version of Agranok that moves because of his special effect, then he would move again, after all the other monster movement is complete.

Once Agranok is in the Castle Ring, does he keep moving each turn and destroying towers but taking no damage himself?

Yes. Once inside the Castle, Agranok moves like a regular monster, and he never takes damage from destroying a wall, tower, or fortify token.

Support Tokens

Do I draw an extra token when drawing a Support token?

No. Drawing a Support token still counts as one of the tokens you must draw on your turn.

Do Boulders destroy Support tokens?

Yes, Support tokens hit by Boulders are always destroyed.

Cavalier

When the Cavalier attacks a monster, he takes damage equal to the "current" health of the attacked monster. When is "current" determined?

The Cavalier and monster make their attacks simultaneously, so the monsters “current” health is whatever it had when a player decides to use the Cavalier to attack that monster. In other words, before the Cavalier deals any damage.

Monsters

Which monsters cannot be put into the archer ring during setup?

Any monster with a special ability that triggers when drawn cannot be put into play during setup. For example, Boss monsters or Heralds.

Playing Cards

When Barrage is played, do you have to play all of your Hit cards or can you just play some of them?

Playing cards when Barrage is played is always optional. You may play as many or as few as you choose to.

With The Wizard's Tower

Is The Dark Titan as difficult as The Wizard’s Tower?

That depends on player ability and which level of Agranok is in play, but most players feel The Dark Titan is more difficult than Castle Panic but a little easier than The Wizard’s Tower.

If playing with the The Wizard’s Tower, am I able to play "Never Lose Hope" to discard hit cards and advance the support tokens, and draw 1 card per card discarded?

No. You can only get one effect from each card you discard. If you use discards to trigger “Never Lose Hope,” they can’t be used simultaneously to inflict wounds to monsters or to move support tokens.

General

How do you set up the game if you want to play with as many monster tiles as possible?

There’s no reason you couldn’t play with ALL the monster tokens from the core game and expansions if you really want to! It will make the game longer, but if facing all those creatures sounds like fun, go for it!